My Return to Filmmaking

There have been many changes in my life over the last couple of years. I went back to school to return to my film roots, and I moved to Montreal. So perhaps the films presented here are a natural culmination of all this. This past term I took a course in Adobe Premiere with a bit of Audition and AfterEffects. Mostly the assignments were to practice as many different effects and techniques with the editing software, which is why the footage isn’t the most professionally shot; it wasn’t part of the program, so I used my cell phone camera. But these short video assignments gave me the chance to combine image and movement, as well as continue my hobby of mapping my new city through photography.

I’ve long been a big fan of Leonard Cohen. To me his music epitomizes the romanticism of Montreal: the plazas, grand architecture, festivals, performances,  artists, red wine, fabulous bagels and food.

One festival I went to was called Nuit Blanche, where there are all sorts of performances, exhibits and rides in the centre of the city for one night in February. The highlight was seeing a performance by Do Mi, who sang a rendition of Nina Simone’s classic “Feelin’ Good.”

For this one I used some more footage of Nuit Blanche as well as some of my photos, and used a song from Arcade Fire as well as part of a sketch by Scott Thompson from Kids in the Hall.

My courses are over now, but I hope to continue doing this some more.

One thought on “My Return to Filmmaking

  1. Hi Brian, I’m very proud of you. Going back to school and moving to a new city takes a lot of guts. I’m glad to see you return to your film roots. Also , good on you to finish your courses.Love you dear, MOM Date: Wed, 30 Mar 2016 21:51:41 +0000 To: maureenjoneill@hotmail.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

